The text books and final tests used by the Donald Free School of Real Estate are published by the Georgia Institute of Real Estate which is the largest supplier of real estate course material in the state of Georgia. Course text books and final school tests are required to meet the strict standards for real estate courses established by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Donald Free School of Real Estate has no control of the content of the final exam or the grading procedures used in determining final test scores.
Extracts from Georgia Rules and Regulations (520-2-.04 Course Examinations)
Every approved Salesperson Pre-license Course shall conclude with an examination administered by the approved school.
On final exams administered for the Salesperson Pre-license Course, all schools must require that students achieve a passing score on the final exam that is equivalent to the passing score (75%) required on the state qualifying exam for a salesperson license. Schools may elect to allow any student who fails to achieve a passing score on the school exam to take another exam on another day without repeating in-class instruction. If a student fails to achieve a passing score on a second and final attempt, the student must repeat all in-class instruction of that course before taking another exam. (cost to repeat the course is standard fee minus the cost of the books)
Schools will maintain at least two forms of a final exam for the Salesperson Pre-license course. These exams must be secure from distribution to students except upon administration of an exam. The final exams ate evaluation tools, not teaching tools. While schools may supply students with information regarding their individual proficiency in areas of the exam, they must not review specific questions from these exams with students. The Commission may impose any sanction permitted by law on any school and/or instructor which fails to provide proper security for exams.
Both the school final exam and the state qualifying exam have 152 questions in multiple-choice format. Students have 4 hours to complete each test. If a student passes the school final exam and fails the state qualifying exam they may retake the state exam as many times as necessary to obtain a passing score. The state exam is given weekly at a test site in Macon and the exam costs $97.00 for each 4 hour session.
The Real Estate License Test Center (AMP)
The Northwest Commons Shopping Center (Suite 16)
Thomaston Rd at Heath Point
Documents required for licensing
Salesperson (Active): Crime Report, Score Report, Sponsoring Broker Form
Salesperson (Inactive): Crime Report, Score Report
Click here for the AMP Candidate Handbook
If an inactive license is issued, the selected broker will then make application with the Real Estate Commission, so there is a 2-4 week delay in receiving your license.
NO CASH or PERSONAL CHECKS!
Visa / Mastercard / Money Order / Cashiers Check (payable to GREC)
$170.00 within 3 months
$340.00 after 3 months
- GCIC (crime report) not valid after 60 days
- If the crime report has a record, the commission will do a separate investigation
- If the crime report does not say “No Record” a license CAN NOT be issued until the Real Estate Commission completes an investigation and issues an approval letter to the candidate
- Due to the volume of candidates applying, there may be a wait
- Children are NOT permitted at the test/licensing centers
Obtaining Your Examination Results and Your License at the Assessment Center
The Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) contracts AMP to administer its qualifying examination and to provide successful examinees with their new license. These licensee are issued only at the AMP Assessment Centers. Licensing is available Monday through Friday between 9:00am – 12:00pm and 2:00pm – 5:00pm*. A candidate who takes and passes the examination during the afternoon session will be unable to license the same day.
SALESPERSONS and COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION MANAGERS – AMP can issue these licenses either “active” or “inactive” as the applicant chooses. If you desire an “active” license, you must also bring the the Assessment Center a completed “Sponsoring Broker Statement.” An “inactive” license does not require that form. You may activate your license at no cost at a later time when you decide to join a real estate firm.
ASSOCIATE BROKERS – If your salesperson’s license is on active status with a firm, AMP can issue an associate broker license only to “active” status with that firm. If your salesperson’s license is on “inactive”status, AMP can issue an associate broker license to “inactive” status; or if you desire and “active” license, you must also bring to the Assessment Center a completed “Sponsoring Broker Statement.” An “inactive” license does not require that form. You may activate your license at no cost at a a later time when you decide to join a real estate firm.
BROKERS – AMP can issue only “inactive” broker licenses. You can activate a brokers license by filing an “opening a new firm” or a “change of qualifying broker” application with the Commission.
* If you prefer, you may return to the Assessment Center within 90 days of your examination to get your new license. To avoid having to return to the Assessment Center on another day, be prepared to pay for your license.
** VISA and MasterCard are accepted. Company checks, personal checks and cash are not accepted.